Scottish Government

Scottish Government Area Management OGC-WMS View Service

0 0 0
Service health Now:
Web Service, OGC Web Map Service 1.3.0
Area management/restriction/regulation zones and reporting units
Access constraints
No limitations on public access
Supported languages
No INSPIRE Extended Capabilities (including service language support) given. See INSPIRE Technical Guidance - View Services for more information.
Data provider

Scottish Government (unverified)

Contact information:

Scottish Government

Victoria Quay, EH6 6QQ Edinburgh, United Kingdom


Service metadata
No INSPIRE Extended Capabilities (including service metadata) given. See INSPIRE Technical Guidance - View Services for more information.

Ads by Google

Spatial data relating to the Area Management theme published by the Scottish Government

Available map layers (11)

Water Regulation Zones (Water Regulation Zones)

Water Supply Zones represent the extend of the area supplied by Scotland's water authority (Scottish Water). These zones represent the extent of the drinking water supply in a given area. The dataset is created new for each calendar year and remains fixed until the next year. The year is also known as the Reporting Year. Each water supply zone must not have a total population greater than 100,000. The water authority must also supply the full name, a unique reference number and a population supplied for each zone.

Nitrate Vulnerable Zones (Nitrate Vulnerable Zones)

Nitrate Vulnerable Zones (NVZs) are areas within Scotland that contain surface water or groundwater that is susceptible to nitrate pollution from agricultural activities. They are designated in accordance with the requirements of the European Commision's Nitrates Directive 91/676/EEC, aims to protect water quality across Europe by preventing nitrates from agricultural sources polluting ground and surface waters and by promoting the use of good farming practices. The Scottish Government is responsible for maintaining and improving the quality of the aquatic environment, and carries out a review of the NVZ areas every four years. In 2016, five areas of Scotland were designated as NVZs under the following regulations: The Designation of Nitrate Vulnerable Zones (Scotland) Regulations 2014 (SSI 2014/373). The five NVZ areas were designated as nitrate levels from agricultural sources either resulted, or would likely result, in a concentration equal or exceeding 50 milligrammes of nitrate per litre of water in either surface water or groundwater. The five areas within Scotland, currently designated as NVZs, are: Aberdeenshire, Banff, Buchan and Moray, Strathmore and Fife, Stranraer Lowlands, Edinburgh, East Lothian and Borders, and Lower Nithsdale.

Marine Planning Zones (Marine Planning Zones)

Marine Planning Zones are defined in the Town and Country Planning (Marine Fish Farming) (Scotland) Order 2007. The Zones designate marine areas for which planning authorities discharge their functions with regard to fish farming developments.

Less Favoured Areas (Less Favoured Areas)

In recognition of the different physical and socio-economic characteristics across the regions, the European Union introduced the Less Favoured Area (LFA) designation to support farming where production conditions are difficult. The criteria for LFA designation were first established in European legislation in 1975 (Directive 75/268 EEC and accompanying measures). There are 3 types of LFA's; all in Scotland fall into the category of simple LFA's marked by poor soils and low agricultural income. Scotland's LFA's are defined by: - The presence of poor land of poor productivity, which is difficult to cultivate and with a limited potential which cannot be increased except at excessive cost, and which is mainly suitable for extensive livestock farming. - lower than average production, compared to the main indices of economic performance in agriculture. - a low or dwindling population predominantly dependent on agricultural activity, the accelerated decline of which could cause rural depopulation

Fragile Land (Fragile Land)

The fragile area dataset was digitised in 1998 on behalf of the Agriculture Department. There is no defintion of 'fragile' land for the context of this dataset. A fragility index has been applied to the LFA designation since 2003. This is part of the payment mechanism for lfass, it is set at parish level and changes from year to year. It is not known whether the fragile land and fragility index are linked.

Drinking Water Protected Areas - Surface (Drinking Water Protected Areas - Surface)

The Drinking Water Protected Area (DWPA) (Surface water) dataset represents the individual surface water water bodies in Scotland. These have been defined by the Scottish Environment Protection Agency in line with the requirements of The Water Environment (Drinking Water Protected Areas) (Scotland) Order 2013. The dataset is required to fulfil the requirements of the European Union Water Framework Directive.

Drinking Water Protected Areas - Ground (Drinking Water Protected Areas - Ground)

The Drinking Water Protected Area (DWPA) (Groundwater) dataset represents the individual groundwater water bodies in Scotland. These have been defined by the Scottish Environment Protection Agency in line with the requirements of The Water Environment (Drinking Water Protected Areas) (Scotland) Order 2013. The dataset is required to fulfil the requirements of the European Union Water Framework Directive.

Designated Bathing Waters (Designated Bathing Waters)

Beach areas designated under the Bathing Waters Directive (76/160/EEC) to protect the environment and public health at locations where bathing is not prohibited and is traditionally practised by a large number of bathers. The Directive requires that water quality at all designated bathing waters must meet specific microbiological requirements in order to protect the health of those that bathe there. The waters are designated on the basis of significant use, taking into account varying population densities and visitor numbers. There are 82 site designations contained in this dataset.The extents of the bathing waters 1st June 2010 as defined by the Scottish Government and SEPA as required by the Bathing Waters (Scotland) Direction 2010. All extents are based on results from intensive water sampling carried out by SEPA. The Dataset consists of beach polygons, and a 100m offshore buffer. Please note that not all bathing waters are to be coded in alphabetical order.

Animal Health Regions (Animal Health Regions)

These are the 5 animal health regions in Scotland. These are part of State Veterinary Service who are an executive agency responsible for delivering agreed services in public health and animal health and welfare within Great Britain (GB). SVS deliver on behalf of the Scottish Executive Environment and Rural Affairs Department (SEERAD) and work closely with them to help develop government policies that are both deliverable and focussed on outcomes, whilst being sensitive to the needs of those we deliver to.

Agricultural Parishes (Agricultural Parishes)

Agricultural parishes are based on Civil Parishes which were abolished as an administrative unit in Scotland in 1975. Agricultural parishes continue to be used for boundary and statistical purposes. There are 891 agricultural parishes in Scotland and they are used in the Agricultural Census and for the payment of farming grants and subsidies. The dataset contains parish boundaries, parish names and parish codes.

Agricultural Area Offices (Agricultural Area Offices)

16 Agricultural Area Offices provide local support for agricultural issues. This information then feeds into Agricultural Headquarters in Edinburgh.

There are currently no notifications for the service, click the feed icon to subscribe.